University Social Responsability
Executive Training

Universidad Mariana


The Mariana Universityis the result of a proposal made under the II International Congress of Franciscan alumnae held in the city of San Juan de Pasto, from 10 to 14 January 1964, when they gave appointment delegations from different regions of the country and the world where has its apostolate the Community of Franciscan Sisters, several proposals were submitted, they were put to consideration and approval of the Honorable Assembly. Thus it was that on 14 January at the closing ceremony of the II International Congress of alumnae it was decided to raise the request to the Congregation of Franciscan Sisters of Mary Immaculate for the creation of a Center for Higher Education in this city in order to continue the level of training of students, especially women of Narino,

Franciscan Sisters led by its General Superior Reverend Mother Georgina Hofer, with a gesture of love for youth, desire to progress in Nariño and Colombia, consulted the Sisters of the Council, and in April 1964 the General Council of the Congregation of Franciscan Sisters definitely welcomes the project and its organization called Sister Aloysia Payne, PhD in education, who later became our first Chancellor.

Given the need for physical spaces where university programs would operate in the same year, the General Government requested financial assistance to the Federal Government of Switzerland. The request was accepted and the Swiss Government through the Commission on Economic and Technical Assistance for Developing Countries of Latin America signed a contract with the Congregation of Franciscan Sisters of Mary Immaculate for financing the project; the building was well started in August 1966 and was delivered and inaugurated on October 4, 1968.

All this dream both alumnae and the Congregation crystallized 1. February 1967, when the Agreement on Technical and Scientific Cooperation between the Swiss Confederation and the Republic of Colombia was signed.

The Community of Franciscan Sisters must give a name to the nascent foundation in fact wanted from the beginning, christen University, but laws did not allow them to do so, following several consultations they called College, and finally INSTITUTE MARIANO, in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mary Patroness of the Congregation.

On May 2, 1967, by official letter No. 31734, the Ministry of Education authorizes the Franciscan Sisters to start work. At the suggestion of Bishop, Monsignor Alberto Giraldo Jorge Restrepo, a temporary home was enabled to begin the intermediate career Family and Social Education; Thus it was that on Tuesday, October 10, 1967 the Marian Institute with a religious ceremony and a cultural ceremony presided over by Monsignor Giraldo Restrepo was inaugurated and Dr. José María Salazar Bucheli, Governor of Nariño

In 1968, the Ministry of Education through Resolution No. 1398 of May 31, granted operating license to the Marian Institute.

Mariano Institute began its work with undergraduate programs: Nursing, Bachelor of Social Sciences, Philosophy and Theology and Family Economic Sciences. In order to achieve final approval before the ICFES, the latter three programs, the Institute, by Act of February 26, 1970, he joined the Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, whose approval made the ICFES by No. 38 Agreement 23 July 1971.

In 1973 work began with the Bachelor of Commerce and Accountancy, and in 1978 with the Public Accounting Program; from 1983 the system open and distance education was implemented and an agreement was established with the University of San Buenaventura de Cali, to provide primary education program.

In 1983, due to growth and academic and administrative consolidation, the Ministry of Education gave official recognition to the Marian University Institute, adopting the name of MARIANA UNIVERSITY.

Since its founding, the Mariana University contributes to the development of his missionary functions transformation, educational, ecological, political, economic and cultural social environment through activities since its various faculties, both in the classroom programs and distance .

Currently it has six academic units in which a variety of programs both undergraduate and graduate levels offered, they are: Faculty of Education, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences, School of Accounting, Economics and Management, Faculty of Engineering and the Faculty of Graduate Studies and International Relations.

Source: University Web

Geographical keywords: Colombia